Fathers Day

We had the most beautiful weekend celebrating Fathers Day. My husband is a shift worker, so when a weekend off falls on a special occasion it makes it even more special for us. I always know when we have had fun because I don’t tend to take many pictures, so these are all I have, but they will do! I am learning more and more I should just relax and get what I get when it comes to family and day out shots, I can’t set up everything to be perfect and I don’t want our memories to be skewed because I was too worried about having good quality images. So now I just take happy snaps and don’t sweat about composure, aperture, exposure and all that business.

Harvey helped me paint the wrapping for his daddy’s gift, thank goodness for non toxic paint because I think he ate more than he painted with.

We had a Saturday night roast then cooked up a big breakie Sunday morning before heading to Diamond Creek Railway which has the cutest little mini trains. We took a picnic and just sat back and relaxed. Harvey loved watching the trains, he clapped whenever one passed us.

Because we were going for some park play I dressed H pretty ‘play friendly’ for all of the climbing and sliding he would no doubt do.

Harvey wore this cute bulldog top I picked up at Tarjay – his first item ever purchased from the ‘big boy’ section (size 1) He was called a girl a few times during the day, it happens sometimes and I shrugged it off.. his dad did notice the sleeves had a little ruffle on them but we thought nothing of it, it’s a bull dog with a bow tie after all. When I cleaned out my laundry bin the other day though I spotted the tag and what do you know – Girls top size 1 – 7. Haha fail! It’s certainly not his first item from the girls section, but it does explain the ruffle sleeves! I am so so sure I found it in the boy section so guessing I am not the only one who thought it was a boys top.

Fathers day family pic:

Clearly our little H was thrilled at being held away from all the fun to pose for photos.

& what’s a family ride on a train without a selfie

One thought on “Fathers Day

  1. I love that you all have stripes on in your family shot, so cute!
    My boyfriend is also a shift worker, he’s doing nights over Christmas 😦

Leave a Reply

