Party

Just a little party with a few people and cake we said. We lied.

Harvey’s little party turned into an extravaganza and it’s all my fault. I can’t help myself when it comes to this stuff.

Party planning started just after Christmas. Harvs had been given a gorgeous geometric blanket made by his clever aunty and I suddenly felt inspired. I started planning a party with a geometric theme in aqua, teal, black and white. It really doesn’t need to be said that I have far too much time on my hands.


You can see the blanket draped over the chair in this shot. I absolutely adore it.

We printed invitations and quickly realized between our friends & family this wouldn’t be a sweet little party. We moved interstate a couple of years ago, so when more than  a few friends and family said they were coming from NSW we were stoked. But it blew out the 20ish people we imagined would come to more like 45 (plus kids) Go big or go home I say!

We gave Harvey a teepee for his birthday. I had it made by the lovely Polkadee – you can find her on facebook HERE. I love the end result – and so does Harvey. He crawls in and out of it and parks his shiny new Fire Engine (from my mum) in there.

I slowly crafted and picked up bits and pieces for the party over the last few months. I love getting crafty, even though I am not particularly good at it! If you follow me on Instagram you will have seen my crafting fails. I cut out a number 1 backwards, then repeated the mistake when I put together this banner, then turned it around and realized I had spelled out YEVRAH. Oh dear.


Lucky it was a quick fix!

I spent hours cutting and folding tissue paper to make a big pom pom installment over our dining table. The day before the party just flew and I wasn’t getting it done. My sister in laws came to the rescue and put this together – Looked great. Talented ladies they are.

I made the cake myself – since my usual cake maker is interstate. I am certainly no great baker – so I grabbed 4 coles uniced sponge cakes and smothered them in buttercream. I made Harvey’s “smash” cake the same way – it’s such a simple way to make an impressive looking cake. If I can do it anyone can!

Thank goodness I was able to get my usual cake maker at Nicki’s Cake Design (located in Sydney) to make me some cupcakes and send down with my mum. They were, as always, a massive hit. She made the cake topper above too – Love it!

Another massive hit was the triangle and “1” cookies from You’re My Hero Bakes (located in Doreen) They are beyond delicious.

I filled the rest of the sweets table with lollies, mashmellows, popcorn and of course fairy bread. I was really happy with how it turned out. Especially after spending hours cutting out those triangles.

We did simple food for the rest – party pies, sausage rolls, little boys (haha) and pastries. Items that required little prep so no one was stuck in the kitchen all day.

Harvey had a blast. I barely saw him the whole party, he was too busy working the room. He totally didn’t get why everyone was singing to him.. which explains the look on his face here – He was just wondering why we had taken him away from playing with all his friends.

He was BEYOND spoiled. I have some serious thank you card writing to get to soon.

This is how excited I got over this fox hat. I plan to make every outfit match this from now on.

Harvey’s outfit proved to be a challenge. Because it is winter there wasn’t a lot of dressy items around. Harvey was given this love Target vest and I went from there – matching him into the theme. The bow tie was $1 including shipping on Ebay. Score!

Harvey is wearing:
Zara Baby White Shirt – $19.95
Target Vest – Gift
Target Aqua Jeans – $12
Deary Me Moccasins – from etsy

In the end I was so glad we threw Harvey a big bash. All 3 of us had a great time. Our family stayed on a little too so it made for a fantastic week showing everyone around. After all you only get 1 first Birthday. Next year we will just keep it simple with a little cake and a few friends. Ha!

One thought on “Party

Leave a Reply

