One

Umm.. so I wrote this last week with the plan to post it on his birthday. That day was absolutely crazy (in a good way) and I never got a chance.. so please just pretend this was posted on Friday. Ta!

Today he is 1. I would love to re-live many moments in life, but I would give anything to relive the past year. It wasn’t always roses, sometimes it was tough, but it was amazing as a whole.

One year ago we didn’t know what we were in for, in the challenges that parenthood would bring of course, but mostly in the love and joy that this little one would give us. My heart feels like it has grown ten times at least. Thinking about life before or without Harvey gives me a lump in my throat, butterflies in my tummy, and brings tears to my eyes. He has given me a content feeling that I just can’t explain.

Harvey at 1. We had his nurse check up the other day, and our usual nurse was sick. The new nurse commented several times she couldn’t believe how happy a little chap he was. And that pretty much sums up whoever meets Harvey’s comments. He has always been, and remains the happiest little person. I would like to say it’s a reflection of our parenting, but it really isn’t. He was just born with that personality. He was the coolest and calmest little newborn, and that has stayed with him until now.

Harvey has 12 words: Dad, Mum, bub, duck, light, that, there, truck, no (his favourite) yeah, yay, and nan. He isn’t walking yet but 2 days before his first birthday he took a step, and he has been surfing the furniture confidently for some time now so I don’t think it will be long. He loves ducks, and trucks. He kisses EVERYONE, especially other babies. He loves music and dancing, I call his dancing “zombie baby dancing” – he holds both arms out Michael Jackson Thriller style and twists side to side, he loves bopping along to music too. He loves books, and pretends to read them chatting in baby talk and turning the pages. We were very lucky parents whose baby slept through the night very young (from around 6 weeks) and he still is now (knock on wood) he sleeps 7-8amish plus 2 day sleeps. His favorite foods are weetbix and yoghurt. He hasn’t had a lot but he is a big fan of chocolate. He loved smashing his cake, but didn’t actually eat a lot of it. He has become very fond of jumping on his bed – I probably shouldn’t encourage it but I find it adorable. His giggle gives me butterflies.

He still has the cubbiest little cheeks I have ever seen. He is SUCH a Harvey. We went into birth having 3 shortlisted names for each boys and girls but hadn’t decided on which one we would use yet – when they put him on my chest I said “hello Harvey” without even thinking. He was just meant to be Harvey.

No longer my baby, and yet my baby forever. I feel so bittersweet for today – I have no doubt there will be tears, both happy and sad. I felt like I waited a life time to meet my little baby, and before I knew it he wasn’t a baby anymore. And yet at the same time watching him grow and learn is the happiest feeling in the world.

I couldn’t be more proud of my son. He has made us parents, a family, and happier then we ever knew we could be.

Happy Birthday sweet boy. We love you more than you will ever know xxx

2 thoughts on “One

  1. Just beautiful Hope. He is an absolute credit to you both. Harvey is an amazing and gorgeous little boy. xoxo

Leave a Reply

